Logan Cup

The Entertaining Logan Cup

About Cricket

Cricket has also attracted a lot of attention in the African continent. Zimbabwe is one of the countries where the game has developed the most in this part of the world. The in.1xbet.com/ site also features some excellent chances to place pre-match and live wagers on all kinds of Zimbabwean cricket tournaments.

One of the most important cricket competitions played in this country is the Logan Cup. This championship was played for the first time in 1993. Different teams from all across the country participate in it playing some great games of first-class cricket. Some of these squads are:

Logan Cup

Logan Cup

  • the Matabeleland Tuskers;
  • Mountaineers;
  • Rocks;
  • the Mashonaland Eagles;
  • and Rhinos.

This website also features matches of the Logan Cup, which punters can wager on at any moment. Curiously, the most successful squad in the history of the competition doesn’t participate anymore. This was the Mashonaland cricket team, which represented the Zimbabwean province of the same name. Between 1994 until their dissolution in 2007, they won the Logan Cup an impressive nine times.

History of the competition

In the late 19th century, Zimbabwe was known as Rhodesia. Many British people went to live in this part of the world. Naturally, they also introduced the game of cricket into the country. Punters can visit 1xBet for online cricket match betting of all these tournaments.

English businessman James Douglas Logan was a huge fan of the game. He saw that in late 19th century Zimbabwe there was no formal cricket competition. He was determined in changing that, and he came up with the idea of establishing a first-class cricket competition.

More than 100 years later, in 1993, the first edition of the Logan Cup, which is named after him, was played.

However, there were many other competitions regularly played in Zimbabwe before this championship. Most of them were based on the ideas introduced by James Douglas Logan.

An important change

The Logan Cup underwent a major reform prior to the 2009 and 2010 season. As it has happened in cricket competitions in other countries, it moved from teams representing provinces to franchises. The best betting app download on in.1xbet.com/mobile/, and it can be used for wagering on this new format of the tournament.

In total, the aforementioned five teams regularly played in the Logan Cup. However, the Southern Rocks squad was suspended from the competition between 2014 and 2020. Still, this squad had a spectacular return winning the 2020-21 season of the Logan Cup. It is possible to download the best app on the website, which can be used to wager on all the teams of this cup.

Table of Content